أرشيف ل أبريل 2011

أبريل 30 2011

المطلوب الآن أحزاب سياسية جديدة في فلسطين

نشرت بواسطة تحت فئة مقالاتي,السياسة الفلسطينية -

فتح وحماس والجبهة الشعبية والجبهة الديموقراطية والجهاد الإسلامي هي بعض أسماء لتنظيمات هيمنت على المشهد السياسي الفلسطيني لعقود. بدأت حركة التحرير الفلسطينية الحديثة مع مختلف فصائل منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية؛ وفي مسيرتها، ضمت إليها الحركات الإسلامية المناهضة للاحتلال. رسمياً، لكل من هذه المجموعات جناح عسكري وسياسي ولكن في كثير من الأحيان لا يستطيع المراقب أن يميز بينهما. إقرأ المزيد »

لا تعليقات

أبريل 28 2011

من يراقب المراقب؟

نشرت بواسطة تحت فئة غير مصنف -

 

من المعروف أن مهام المجالس التشريعية عالميا تنحصر في موضوعي التشريع ورقابة السلطة التنفيذية. ولكن يبقى السؤال الأهم: من يراقب هؤلاء النواب ؟ والجواب التقليدي لهذا السؤال هو المواطن، ففي الديمقراطيات الناجحة يقوم المواطن ومن خلال صندوق الاقتراع بعملية استمرار أو “طرد” النائب بناء على أدائه. ولكن هل تنطبق هذه الآلية على مجالسنا البرلمانية في الأردن؟ إقرأ المزيد »

لا تعليقات

أبريل 12 2011

غولدستون والموقف المتقلب

بقلم داود كتاب

كلما حدث أي شيء في العالم يطرح اليهود والإسرائيليون السؤال: هل هذا الأمر جيد لليهود؟ ولكن عندما يتم تعيين يهودي من جنوب أفريقيا على لجنة حقوق الإنسان وهو يصر أيضا بأنه صهيوني، فإن الجواب اليهودي الإسرائيلي يكون: لا.. وبقوة.

من الواضح أن الاغتيال المعتاد للشخصيات السياسية والدوامة المرتبطة به والذي يهدف إلى إلغاء شرعية أي شخص يُطلب منه التحقيق في جرائم الحرب التي تشنها إسرائيل تجعل مهمته أكثر صعوبة إذا كان هذا الشخص قاضياً يهودياً.

وللتأكد من ذلك، فإن إسرائيل رفضت الاجتماع مع غولدستون ولجنته، وعندما أصدروا تقريرا يستند جزء منه على ما رأوه في غزة، فإن آلة العلاقات العامة الإسرائيلية تحركت، ولكن يبدو أن هنالك آلة قوية أكثر فعالية قد بدأت العمل على نحو مماثل، هذه المرة باستخدام شبكة العلاقات الاجتماعية والدينية الواسعة للسكان اليهود في جميع أنحاء العالم للضغط المباشر المستمر والحثيث على غولدستون. إقرأ المزيد »

لا تعليقات

أبريل 01 2011

القيادة بالقدوة

نشرت بواسطة تحت فئة اﻷردن -

بقلم داود كتاب

بعد الانفجار العنيف في تجمع دوار الداخلية يوم الجمعة الماضي فإن السؤال الذي يسأله الجميع هو:  أين نذهب بعد ذلك ? هل سيستمر جو المواجهات والشك في الآخر والتصريحات المتباينة للأحداث والمطالبات المتنافسة في الولاء في الأسابيع المقبلة؟ هناك العديد من الأسئلة على كل من الحكومة والإصلاحيين المناهضين لها الإجابة عليها في هذا الصدد.  إقرأ المزيد »

لا تعليقات

Archive for April, 2011

Apr 30 2011

Will a Palestinian state be born this fall?

Published by under Articles,Palestinian politics

By Daoud Kuttab - Special to CNN

I place the chances for the birth of a Palestinian state this fall at fifty-fifty. The world community, including the United States, seems to favor the idea. Yet there is clearly a lack of political will and muscle for pushing Israel to seriously negotiate the emergence of Palestine. Continue Reading »

One response so far

Apr 21 2011

Wanted: New Political Parties in Palestine

Published by under Articles,Palestinian politics

Fateh, Hamas, PFLP, DFLP, Jihad Islami – these are some of the names of guerrilla movements that have dominated the Palestinian political scene.The modern Palestinian liberation movement began with various PLO factions; en route, it picked up Islamic anti-occupation movements. Each of these groupings has a military and a political wing. The public at large is often unable to distinguish between individuals and positions of the military and political wings. Continue Reading »

One response so far

Apr 14 2011

America’s Arab comeback – except for Palestine

By Daoud Kuttab

The past few months have seen no anti-American demonstrations and no burning of US flags across the Arab world. Arabs seem increasingly willing to accept – and even applaud – the Obama administration’s policy towards the region.

Of course, Arabs are still unhappy with the continued US bias in favour of Israel. Its inability to end the 44-year military occupation of Palestinian lands has not gone unnoticed. But many Arabs nowadays prefer to give the US a break. Continue Reading »

No responses yet

Apr 07 2011

Goldstone’s about-face

Published by under Articles

Whenever anything happens in the world, Jews and Israelis ask the question: Is this good for Jews? But when a South African Jew who also insists that he is a Zionist was appointed to a human rights commission, the Jewish answer was a strong no. Continue Reading »

2 responses so far

Apr 02 2011

Five working days in Doha, QATAR

Published by under Articles,Media Activism,Personal

I spent five working days in the Qatari capital of Doha teaching a course on writing opinions behalf of the International Center for Journalists. Forty Qataris between journalists and public servants involved in media issues attended in two repeated sessions held at the Qatar News Agency with twenty in either morning or afternoon session. Continue Reading »

No responses yet